Deleting a Field

If you have used a field within your process, and data is stored within the database for the field, it is suggested that you do not delete the field, but you simply remove the field from all layouts. In this way you will have preserved the data within the field, but the field will not be visible.

If you really want to delete the field, then you must first eliminate all the data stored against the field. Typically you achieve this by by using the mass update facility and updating all the fields that contain the field with values, to have a null value. Once this is achieved, you can delete the field from the data dictionary.