Removing a Business Area

This is possible, if you follow the sequence below, but it is much more common to simply use the Grant Security Privileges feature to remove access to each business area for all user roles, thus preserving any data.

To remove a business area:

  • Remove all issues that belong to all projects within the business area, or move the issues to a different business area
  • Remove all workflow status settings associated with the business area and its projects
  • Change all users default roles who are defaulted to work within the business area you want to remove
  • Remove any file import templates designed for use with the area
  • If any allowed values use the AREA field as a parent, remove all references to the area you want to delete
  • Delete all projects that exist within the area, including the default project
  • Finally, delete the area.